SMART529 is West Virginia’s official education savings plan, designed to encourage families to save for higher education.

SMART529 savings can be used for traditional four-and two-year colleges, accredited vocation or trade schools, graduate and doctoral programs, or K-12 private school. In addition to tuition, you can use SMART529 funds to pay for other qualified school-related expenses such as fees, books, supplies, computer equipment, room and board.

Benefits of the plan include state and federal tax benefits as well as the Bright Babies program, a $100 incentive for parents to start saving early!

Start your SMART529 plan today!


Jumpstart, a new savings program in West Virginia and a first of its kind in the nation, is designed to help families and individuals save money today for future trade or occupation expenses.

Jumpstart savings can be used for certification or licensing fees, tools, equipment, or supplies, as well as business start-up costs.

The plan features state tax benefits for account owners and employers who contribute to an employee’s Jumpstart account. The Ignite Incentive also gives eligible account beneficiaries a $100 boost to their savings.

Start your Jumpstart plan today!


Board Meetings

The Board of Trustees of the West Virginia College and Jumpstart Savings Programs meetings are determined, set and subject to change by the Board. Meetings are tentatively held the Wednesday of the first full week of designated months and Standing Committees shall meet as circumstances dictate. The Board of Trustees is scheduled to meet on the following dates for 2023:

March 20, 2024
June 5, 2024
September 4, 2024
December 4, 2024

For more information, click here to visit the Secretary of State Administrative Law Meeting Notices.

Members of the Board

Ex Officio Members:
West Virginia State Treasurer:
Riley Moore, Chairman

State Superintendent of Schools:
Phillip Uy (designee)

Higher Education Policy Commission:
Brian Weingart

Council for Community & Technical College Education:
Dr. Bonny Ball Copenhaver

Appointed Members:
Private institutions of higher education:
Dr. Daniel Anderson

Paul Koontz

Private Citizens:
Phyllis Arnold
Patrick Smith
Chris Heller

Labor organization-Tradespersons:
Justin Williams

Business-Trade/skilled labor apprenticeships:
Marguerite Horvath


Contact Information

You may contact the Board of Trustees by writing to:

Riley Moore, Chairman
West Virginia College and Jumpstart Savings Programs Board of Trustees
State Treasurer's Office
1900 Kanawha Blvd. E.
Charleston, WV 25305

The Treasury does not collect state taxes. Visit the The West Virginia State Tax Department for assistance.

West Virginia State Treasurer's Office
1900 Kanawha Boulevard
Capitol Complex Building #1, Room E-145
Charleston, West Virginia 25305
304-558-5000 Toll Free: 800-422-7498
Hours: 8:30am-4:30pm (ET)

Copyright 2024 by West Virginia State Treasury Privacy Statement